The Faculty of the Social Sciences had been part and parcel of the University since its inception in 1982.  The Faculty started with the Departments of Economics, Geography and Sociology.  In the  1983/1984 session, the Faculty added the Departments of Political Science and Psychology.  By 1990, the Faculty also introduced full Degree Programmes in B.Sc. Accounting and Banking and Finance.  When the University introduced its Postgraduate Programmes in 1992/1993 session, the Faculty of the Social Sciences also have the opportunity to admit students into its Post –Graduate Programmes.

 In the 1995/1996 Session, when the Faculty of Management Sciences was created, the Departments of Accounting and Banking and Finance were moved from the Faculty of the Social Sciences to the new Faculty.  The Faculty also played a pivotal role in the University during the creation Centre for Research and Development (CRD) November, 1991 to attract and promote Research Consultancy and Policy Development.  This later resulted in the University receipt of a grant from Swedish Agency for Research Co-operation in a project on sexual behaviours and sexually transmitted diseases in Nigeria.  In 2009/2010 the Faculty introduced the following new courses.

  1. B.Sc. Criminology (housed in the Department of Sociology)
  2. B.Sc. Industrial Psychology and Personnel Management (housed in the Department of Psychology)
  3. B.Sc. Environment Management and B.Sc. Tourism and Hospitality Management  (housed to the Department of Geography and Planning Sciences) was added in 2011/2012 session (as a result of merger and change in the name of University).

Faculty of the Social Sciences also participated when the External Degree Programme (renamed Directorate of Part Time Programmes and now Directorate of Distance Learning Programme) was established to run weekend Part-Time Diploma and Undergraduate Programmes.

It has introduced Degree and Diploma courses and supported the introduction of Postgraduate programmes.  The Faculty has continued to wax stronger in pursuit of University’s academic objectives.  The Departments in the Faculty of the Social Science at present are:

  1. Department of Economics
  2. Department of Geography and Planning Sciences
  3. Department of Political Science
  4. Department of Psychology
  5. Department of Sociology


Prof. Olusegun Areola                            1982-1983
Prof. Omolade Adejuyigbe                    1983-1985
Prof. Bola Ayeni                                       1985-1986
Prof. Olarewaju Fapohunda                  1986-1987
Prof. O.J. Adejuwon                                1987-1989
Prof. Orubuloye                                       1990-1992
Prof. S.F. Ebisemiju                                 1993-1996
Prof. I.O.A. Adelola                                 1996-1997
Prof. F.I. Afolabi                                      1997-2000
Prof. D.C. Uguru-Okorie                        2001-2002
Prof. Dipo Kolawole                               2003-2006
Prof. D.C. Uguru-Okorie                        2006
Prof. E.O. Ogunleye                                2006-2008
Prof. Wale Adesina                                 2008-2012
Prof. W.O. Adebayo                               2012-2016
Prof. S.O. Adebayo                                 2016 till date.