Dean Faculty of Science

dean faculty of scienceThe Dean Faculty of Science is PROF. OLOFINTOYE, Lawrence Kayode. He was appointed the Dean of the Faculty in year 2014 till date. He’s from Okemesi Ekiti, and was born on 2nd October, 1960.

About Faculty of Science

I welcome you to the Faculty of Science, Ekiti State University. The Faculty is as old as the University. At present, we run eleven academic departments. The Faculty also run Institute of Science Laboratory technology. The Faculty is known for high quality education in the Sciences with collaborative tentacles within and outside Nigeria. The Faculty is a leading academic centre, and a self-administered community of scholars. Our academic achievement is outstanding, a reflection of our students intellectual achievement as well as research output carried out by the staff of the Faculty.

The Faculty of Science has the mandate of the Senate of the University to carry out the teaching, research and examination for the award of degrees of the University in the following field of Basic Sciences namely:- Bio-Chemistry, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematical Sciences, Microbiology, Physics, Plant Science and Zoology.

The Framework and Services of the Faculty:

The Faculty offers Basic Science courses and advanced courses channeled towards solving developmental needs of the state as well as the entire nation. Presently, the Faculty offer courses in Basic and Applied Sciences in the field of Biochemistry, Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Geology, Mathematical Sciences (made up of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science), Microbiology, Physics, Plant Science and Zoology. In addition to these, the Faculty offer Master and Doctorate degree programmes and Bachelor’s degree programmes in Science and Laboratory Technology.