Returning Student

Registration EKSU
Registration of Courses, Enrolment and Duration of Study

Students may take courses from other faculties as defined in the curricula.
The following standard terminologies shall be used:
(i)                  Compulsory:  Courses specified by the department which a student must take and pass    to obtain a degree.
(ii)                 Electives: Courses specified by the department from which a student can take in order to make up the required additional units for the award of the degree.
(iii)               Required: Courses specified by the department from which a student must take but not necessarily pass, to obtain a degree
(iv)               Prerequisite: A course whose knowledge is essential prior to taking another specified course.
(v)                Concurrent: Specified courses which must be taken within the semester or has already been passed.
(i) Appropriate prerequisite and/or concurrent requirement may be prescribed for course. A pre-requisite is fulfilled by completing and passing the pre-requisite or equivalent, except that a student who fails a course but obtains a score of between 35% and 39% in it shall be deemed to possess the course for pre-requisite purposes but will not be credited with any unit in it.  Pre-requisite course may also be waived for suitably qualified candidate by Senate on the recommendation of the Board of the Faculty of Engineering. 

(ii) A concurrent requirement shall be satisfied if the student has either taken the course on a previous occasion or register for the course within the same semester.

All courses taught during each semester shall be examined at the end of that semester, and students will be credited with the number of course units assigned to the course for which they have passed the examination.

Fulltime students shall normally be required to register for a minimum of 12 course units and a maximum of 25 course units in any one semester, or a minimum of 24 courses units and maximum of 50 course units per session.

Load Units

(a)     Students are to register for all their outstanding  courses to be taught during the semester before they can register for the higher level courses within the permitted maximum number of units; and in due consideration of the outstanding courses which are pre-requisites to the next level courses.
(b)     Students are strongly advised NOT to register for any course the prerequisite of which has not been passed.  A student, who registers for any course the pre-requisite of which he has not passed shall, after such has been discovered, not be credited with his grade for the course.
(c)     The minimum workload for an Electrical and Electronic Engineering student is 12 units per semester and the maximum is 25 units.
(d)     A student whose total number of outstanding course units is 15 and above for a semester is STRONGLY advised NOT to register for any higher level course.
(e)     All students in the Department are required to pass all outstanding credit of carry-over courses (including GST) up to the end of the 300 level. Any student who fails to meet this requirement would be required to spend an additional period of one or two semesters to liquidate such outstanding courses before he/she could be allowed to register for 400 Level courses.
(f)      The minimum work load for a fulltime student shall be 12 units per semester while the maximum shall be 25 units.  In exceptional circumstances Senate may authorize a maximum of 28 units. However, a student with CGPA of less than 2.0 shall not be eligible for such consideration.
(g)     No course shall carry less than one or more than four course units except for programmes such as Industrial experience.
(h)     Students admitted for five-year degree programme shall normally start with 100 level courses while those admitted for the four-year degree programme shall normally start with 200 and compulsory University 100 level courses.
(i)       Senate may, on the recommendation of the Faculty Board of Engineering permit student to start at other levels of courses.

Admission and Withdrawal from Courses

(a)     Admission into courses closes at the end of the third full week of the semester or as stipulated by the Senate approved calendar.

(b)     A student can withdraw from a course without penalty any time up to and including the seventh full week of the semester.  Any student who withdraws after the seventh week will be deemed to have failed except in special cases approved by Senate.

(c)     Students who transfer from other Faculties/Universities to the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering may apply toward degree requirements those units passed before transfers which are within the curriculum of the Department of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

Continuous Evaluation

The progress of a student enrolled in a course is continuously assessed by means of test, written assignments, reports and/or such other means as may be appropriate and consistent with the objectives and conduct of the course and determined by the Department.

 Assessing Industrial Training

The following procedure shall be adopted for the evaluation of the Work Experience of the students of the Department.  For the evaluation of Industrial Units only the following shall be considered:

ENG 190 SWEP I 4 Week 1 Unit
ENG 290 SWEP II  4 Week 1 Unit
ENG 490 SIWES II   2 weeks 6 units
ENG 492   SIWES II 12 weeks 6 units
14 units

At the end of Industrial Attachment every student will submit a report with work diary certified by employer to be assessed by lecturers in the appropriate disciplines and the Faculty Industrial coordinator.  The employer of the student shall also give an assessment of the student performance during the period.  Every student shall be graded according to the approved procedure by a Work Experience Examination Panel based on the assessment of his report by lecturer(s) during the work and seminar and report by Industrial coordinator.

Requirements for Course Work And Minimum Units To Graduate

See Departmental Handbook for details and Open Courseware