A Brief History of The Department
The Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages, an offshoot of the Department of Yoruba Studies, was established in the 1999/2000 academic session.  The Department of Yoruba Studies, which metamorphosed to the Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages, was established at the inception of the establishment of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ado-Ekiti which later became Ondo State University and later University of Ado-Ekiti of which was later renamed Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti. The list of past and current Heads of Department consist of: Dr. (Mrs.) O. Olutoye (1982–1991), Mr. Talabi Olagbemi (1991–1992), Prof. (Mrs.) O. Olutoye (1992–1994), Dr. (Mrs.) O. Adebowale (1995–1996), Mr. E.T. Olowokere (1996–1997), Dr. M.A. Abiodun (1998–2000), Dr. (Mrs.) A. Adejumo (2001–2002), Mr. E.T. Olowokere (2003/2004), Prof. Bisi Ogunsina (2005–2008), Dr. M.A. Abiodun (2008-2011), Prof. (Mrs.) Y. Adebowale (2011–April, 2012) and Dr. R.O. Ikotun (2012-2013), Dr AO. O. Alamu(2013-2015,. The current H.O. D is Dr Mrs O.A. Aladesanmi (2015- )