The Faculty of Arts is one of the Faculties that started the University in 1982.  Hence, the Faculty is as old as the University itself.
The Faculty, at its inception in 1982, had two Departments namely Department of English and Literary Studies and History (which is now known as History and International Studies).

Services and Academic Programmes

The Faculty now has seven Departments which provide, in addition to the traditional subjects, an appropriate platform for the mounting of courses in General Studies. The seven Departments are: Department of English and Literary Studies, Department of French,Department of History and International Studies, Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages,Department of Philosophy,Department of Religious Studies, Department of Theatre and Media Arts

Our Philosophy

The Faculty of Arts contributes in a very substantial manner to the general sustenance of the Society, both in the public and private sectors. It is relatively inexpensive to establish and its study cuts across disciplinary barriers. Moreover, more than most other disciplines, it stretches the mind and sharpens the intellect in a way to emphasize the liberal nature of tertiary education.